THE EVENTS

SEABIRD IN DISTRESS? WHAT CAN I DO?
Lâché de Pétrel - Photo Jean Kape

Recovered freedom for Tahiti Pétrel – Photo Jean Kape

  • Avoid handling unnecessarily for not stressing or damaging its feathers;
  • Place it in a quiet cardboard, protected from predators, heat and light;
  • Do not feed it;
  • Call as soon as possible the association Manu (+689)87 222 799 or (+689)40 521 100 or contact-us by email or Facebook. We will try to organize its recovery. If no one answers, leave your name and telephone number on our answering machine and we will contact you ASAP.

THANK YOU FOR HIM!

 

POLYNESIAN BIRDS

Poster_Manu_siteRead more
All the birds

Page under construction: Birds of the different archipelagos


We would like to thank all the generous photographers for the gorgeous photographs you can admire in this website. We would also like to draw your attention not to copy, distribute, use or modify theses pictures without SOP Manu and authors permission. All texts are property  of SOP Manu except when credited to somebody else. They can not be used without express approval of the authors. You can not use full or partial copies without the prior authorisation of SOP Manu and the authors. Thank you!

OUR ACTIONS
Seabirds Rescue
Rescuing Petrels and Puffins, lured by the city lights. Read more
Tahiti Monarch
Monarque de Tahiti-video2

Video from Alain Petit.

The Tahiti Monarch (Pomarea nigra), endemic to Tahiti, is listed as critically endangered. In 1998, there were only 12 birds left on the island. As of now, the count is up to 53 adult and sub-adults birds, including 19 pairs which were breeding in 2014-2015. Read more

Fatu Hiva Monarch
Monarque de Fatu Hiva

The Fatu Hiva Monarch (Pomarea whitneyi) is endemic to the island of Fatu Hiva in the Marquesas and is listed as critically endangered (CR). Recent surveys counted less than 50 monarchs remaining on the island! (Photo Thomas Ghestemme)
Read more
Biosecuring Rimatara

Rimatara is the last black rat free island in the Australes archipelago. The colonisation of black rats on this island would lead to the certain death of the only French Polynesian population of ‘Ura , or Kuhl’s Lorikeet. It would also affect the ‘Oromao, or Rimatara Reed-warbler which is endemic to Rimatara.
Read more
Biosecuring Ua Huka

Ua Huka is the last of the inhabited islands in the Marquesas archipelago still free of black rats. The introduction of the black rat would mean the end of two endemic birds: the Pihiti or ultramarin Lorikeet and the Pati’oti’o or Iphis Monach.
Read more
Awareness and Training
Sensibilisation et formation

Within its possibilities, the association organises and takes part in various awareness-raising events , communicates with local media (radio, television), runs projects with schools and coordinates field trips (bird-watching, audio recording, photoshooting…). Read more
Inventory Field work
Missions d’inventaire
Manu conducts several ecological assessments throughout the french polynesian islands, from logistics to fieldwork. Read more


OUR PARTNERS

LES ACTUALITÉS
LES ÉVÈNEMENTS

OISEAU MARIN EN DETRESSE ? QUE FAIRE ?
Cartoon Petrel(site)@Annie Northfield

Cartoon Petrel@Annie Northfield

  • Évitez de le manipuler inutilement pour ne pas le stresser ni abîmer ses plumes.
  • Placez-le dans un carton au calme, à l’abri des prédateurs, de la chaleur et de la lumière. Ne le nourrissez pas.
  • Appelez au plus vite l’association Manu sur le Vini SOS Pétrels au 87 222 799 ou au 40 521 100 ou contactez-nous par mail ou sur Facebook. Nous tâcherons d’organiser sa récupération.
  • Si personne ne répond, laissez votre nom et votre numéro de téléphone sur notre répondeur, et nous vous contacterons au plus vite. MERCI POUR LUI !
LES OISEAUX POLYNÉSIENS

Poster_Manu_site

Pour en savoir plus:
Tous les oiseaux

En construction: Les oiseaux par archipels

Disponible: les oiseaux des îles Australes !

Nous remercions chaleureusement tous les auteurs des magnifiques photographies que vous pouvez admirer dans les différentes pages du site. Pour rappel, veuillez noter que le droit de reproduire ces images, de les utiliser ou de les modifier nécessite l’autorisation des auteurs. De même, toute copie entière ou partielle des textes du site ne pourra se faire qu’avec la permission préalable de la SOP Manu et des auteurs. Merci pour votre considération.

NOS ACTIONS
Sauvetage des oiseaux marins

Sauvetage des pétrels et puffins désorientés par la pollution lumineuse. En savoir plus

Monarque de Tahiti
Monarque de Tahiti-video2

Voir ici la vidéo d’Alain Petit.

Endémique de Tahiti, le Monarque de Tahiti est classé en danger critique d’extinction (CR). Seuls 12 individus étaient connus quand la SOP s’est lancé dans son sauvetage en 1998. On compte désormais 53 oiseaux (adultes et jeunes sub-adultes) et 19 couples suivis se sont reproduits lors de la saison 2014-2015. En savoir plus

Monarque de Fatu Hiva
Monarque de Fatu Hiva

Endémique de Fatu Hiva aux Marquises, le Monarque de Fatu Hiva est classé en danger critique d’extinction (CR). En 2014, 25 individus vivaient dans les zones protégées avec seulement 5 couples ayant produit des poussins ! (Photo Thomas Ghestemme).
En savoir plus
Biosécurisation de Rimatara

Rimatara est la dernière île habitée des Australes indemne de rat noir.
La colonisation de cette île par le rat noir signifierait à plus ou moins court terme l’extinction de l’unique population présente en Polynésie française de ‘ura ou Lori de Kuhl et une diminution certaine des effectifs du ‘oromao ou Rousserolle de Rimatara.
En savoir plus
Biosécurisation de Ua Huka

Ua Huka est la dernière île habitée des Marquises encore indemne de rat noir. La colonisation de cette île par le rat noir signifierait à plus ou moins court terme l’extinction du pihiti ou Lori ultramarin et du pati’oti’o ou Monarque Iphis
En savoir plus
Sensibilisation et formation
Sensibilisation et formation

Selon ses possibilités, l’association organise et participe à des actions de sensibilisation du public. Elle communique auprès des médias (Radio, Télévision), intervient auprès des établissements scolaires et organise des sorties sur le terrain (observations, enregistrements sonores, photographies…).
En savoir plus
Missions d’inventaires
Missions d’inventaire
L’association mène de nombreuses missions d’inventaires ornithologiques dans les îles de Polynésie française, de l’organisation logistique à la réalisation sur le terrain.

En savoir plus



NOS PARTENAIRES